Other bikey ideas you can do to your bike to make it cooler (or weirder if you ask my neighbours…)

I just thought I’d post some bike hacks, inventions and and modifications that have worked for me. Here’s some that I use a lot…

IMG_7099

so I zip tied an old kid’s seat to the toptube of the bike (the top tube is the bar that runs from your seat pole to your handle bars). Its an awesome little set up as I can chuck either kid on for short journeys. I got the idea when we were in Sri Lanka, where kids and adults get around this way. It feels like you are hugging your passenger for the whole journey. Great if its your cute 4 year old, and the perfect way to make friends with hitch-hikers.
If you look closely you can see the price tage
:$3 from the 2nd hand shop!

IMG_7094[1]

the seat in action. 3 humans on a regular bike

securedownload2

IMG_7095

I fitted an old-school back rack (the kind with the spring-loaded clip) onto the FRONT of my bike. I haven’t seen a cool enough factory made version of this. The old-school racks are really wide and the clip make it easy to put thing on and off, even without straps. It probably adds 1kg to my bike but I don’t care: I usually have stuff stacked high on it anyway. I put a little factory-made front rack on then zip tied the old-school rack in top of it. As you can tell, I have a Phd in zip-tie-ology.

IMG_7097 IMG_7098

Leave a Reply

